2021 Roxanne Isenhart Scholarship winners

Roxanne Isenhart graduated from Northern Illinois University in 1977 after starting her degree 14 years earlier at Iowa State University. In 2016, she established the Roxanne Isenhart Scholarship which is awarded each year to a junior or senior year enrolled in the College of Health and Human Sciences (CHHS) who majors in nutrition or child development.

Senior Audrey Ledermann, School of Family and Consumer Sciences, and junior Sarah Christensen, School of Health Studies, are the recipients of the 2021 Roxanne Isenhart Scholarship.

“I am so thankful to be the recipient of this scholarship,” said Ledermann, who is majoring in Human Development and Family Sciences. “This award functions as a reminder that hard work pays off. With this scholarship, I am more determined than ever to serve children and families through giving back to others as this scholarship has given to me.”

Christensen agreed.

“The scholarship means a lot to me,” said Christensen, of Sycamore. “I see it as a sign that I am on the right path in pursuing Nutrition and Dietetics as a career.”

Ledermann said the scholarship was a great help as she completed her degree, allowing her to focus on her studies.

Christensen, who is pursuing a degree in Nutrition, Dietetics and Wellness, shared the sentiment.

“This scholarship will help me in my academic career so I can focus more on my studies and less on how I will pay for school,” Christensen said. “It will also allow me more time to pursue the volunteer hours and relevant work experience I will need for my dietetic internship by relieving some of the financial burden.”

Want to make a difference for a Huskie? Learn about giving to CHHS.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email